How to file business state tax extension for Massachusetts?
54 views | Last modified 3/13/2020 8:15:39 AM EST

The state of Massachusetts grants you an automatic extension for filing the return if you were approved for federal extension. In case your business owes state tax and the federal extension is not approved, you must make payment and submit the state extension Form 355-7004, to avoid penalty and get an automatic extension for 6 months.
 
Due date and penalty

For fiscal year taxpayers, the due date for paying tax due, filing return/extension is by the 15th day of the 3rd month following the end of tax period. For calendar year taxpayers, the due date is March 16. 

If you fail to pay the tax due on time, the Massachusetts Department of Revenue will impose a penalty  on unpaid tax at the rate of 1% per month on the tax due which can increase up to a maximum of 25%. 

Payment of tax dues

For paying the tax due, include the Check or Money order with the state extension tax Form 355-7004  (Application for Corporate Extension) and mail it to the Department of Revenue, Massachusetts.

To pay electronically, check out the payment options available.

Tax Type State Tax Form Due date (Fiscal year) Due date (Calendar year) Extension Period State tax Payment form
Corporate Excise Tax Form 355 15th day of the 3rd month March 16 6 months Form 355-7004

 

For more information on business state tax extension, click here

Was this helpful? Yes No

Category

File your Extension in minutes &
get instant IRS approval!

Returning User? Sign in

Couldn't find what you
are looking for?

Contact Us

803.514.5155 support@expressextension.com